Oyo court jails couple, convicts 16 others for Internet fraud

IBADAN – Justice Iyabode Yerima of Oyo State High Court, Ibadan, yesterday, convicted and sentenced a couple Aladenusi Adegboyega Ayodeji and Sadiat Omowumi Rafiu to jail terms for cybercrime.

The couple was convicted alongside eight others on separate one-count charge each. Other convicts are Adekoya Ojo Faruq Kolapo, Adekanmi Boluwatife Emmanuel, Omokaro Uyiosa Berry, Ajayi Lanre Lawrence, Babalola Segun Samuel and Bolaji Bolarinwa Toheeb.

They all pleaded “guilty” to the charges preferred against them by the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

After their guilty plea, the prosecuting counsel, Samsuddeen Bashir reviewed facts of the cases and urged the court to sentence the defendants accordingly.

Justice Yerima, thereafter, convicted Ayodeji to a year imprisonment and his wife to six-month community service, on the ground that she is a breastfeeding mother.

Also, Babalola was convicted and sentenced to six-month imprisonment, while Adekoya, Adekanmi, Omokaro, Ajayi and Bolaji were sentenced to six-month community service each.

The court ordered that the convicts restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

SIMILARLY, 10 cyber criminals were convicted and sentenced to various jail terms, ranging from three months imprisonment to one year
by Justice Mohammed Owolabi of Oyo State High Court, sitting in Ibadan.

The convicts who were arraigned and convicted on a lone count each are: Owoseni Opeyemi Emmanuel, Michael Banjo Oluwatoyin, Mustapha Temitope Abdulsodiq, Olawuyi Olanrewaju Ridwan, Edobor Lucky Uhunoma, Ilori Peter Oladayo, Basit Kolawole Ibrahim, Falade Adeyinka Moses, Abdullahi Teslim Taiwo and Temidayo Demilade Adebowale.

They all pleaded ‘guilty’ to the charges filed against them. In view of their pleas, the prosecuting counsel, Mabas Mabur reviewed the facts of their cases and prayed the court to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

Consequently, Justice Owolabi convicted and sentenced Owoseni to one year imprisonment, Olawuyi to seven months imprisonment, Temidayo to three months jail term, while Michael, Mustapaha, Edobor, Ilori, Basit and Abdullahi bagged six months imprisonment.

Also, Falade Adeyinka Kolapo was convicted and ordered to pay a N250, 000.00 fine. The court also ordered the convicts to restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button