Yewa Youth Dialogue Is To Explore Yewaland Potentials – Ayelaagbe

ABEOKUTA – The President of the Yewa Youth Association (YYA), Comr. Abduljabar Ayelaagbe has disclosed that the objective of the Youth-legislators dialogue goes beyond appreciating the legislators but to explore, learn, and collaborate on the vital
issues that shape Yewaland.

Ayelaagbe stated this at the weekend during the 365 days stewardship and youth dialogue with Yewa National and State Legislators held at the ASUP hall of the Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro.

He highlighted the association’s commitment to continuous engagement with lawmakers and emphasized the potential of the youth in shaping the future of Yewaland.

Ayelaagbe said this monumental gathering marked a significant milestone in the region’s political history, as it fostered a direct and open exchange between the youth and their elected officials.

He maintained that the event symbolized a new era of transparency, accountability, and youth empowerment, setting a powerful example for civic engagement across the nation.

Declaring the events open, the Chairman of the occasion, Prof. Rahmon Bello, Chairman, Yewa People Development Council (YPDC) and former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lagos, commended the Yewa Youth Association for a well-executed outing and for continuously exhibiting genuine passion and executing series of inspirational programmes towards advancing the youth for the overall development of Yewaland.

He stated that the event is to celebrate the legislators and present an opportunity for them to share the challenges faced and how Yewaland can overcome them.

He admitted that the success of the youth engagement marks the beginning of a promising partnership aimed at the development of Yewaland, hence, the furtherance of dialogue and collaboration between youths across the region and their Legislators must be sustained by the Yewa Youth Association.

“It is safe to conclude that the voices of Yewa youths will continue to be heard and valued in the decision-making process toward a bright future, driven by an empowered and proactive youth movement.”

In attendance were Sen. Solomon Olamilekan Adeola YAYI, Senator Representing Ogun West Senatorial District; Hon. Abiodun Isiaq Akinlade, Yewa South/Ipokia Federal Constituency; and Hon. Gboyega Nasir Isiaka, Yewa North/Imeko-Afon Federal Constituency. State legislators present were Hon. Bolanle Lateefat Ajayi, Deputy Speaker and Member Representing Yewa South State Constituency; Hon. Adegoke Adeyanju Awoso, Yewa North I State Constituency; Hon. Bisi Oyedele, Idiroko/Ipokia State Constituency and Hon. Wahab Haruna, Yewa North II State Constituency.

A highlight of the event was the prize presentation to secondary school students who participated in an essay competition themed “Yewaland of My Dream.”

The competition saw an overwhelming response, with students showcasing their visions for the future of Yewaland. Winners were awarded cash prizes and educational materials, in recognition of their insightful and inspiring contributions.

In attendance were Royal fathers across Yewa towns: Oba J. O Adesiyan, Onihunbo Of Ihunbo Yewa; Oba M. A Awode, Ololo Of Ijofin Yewa; Oba J. A Ajani, Opo Of Idosemo Yewa; Oba S. I Adegbola, Alaye Of Oniro Agude Yewa; Oba Olowobese Oyebanji, Oloja of Oja Odan; and Oba Lukmon Kuoye, Onimasayi of Imasayi(virtually).

The Council of Baales was also noticeably present. Representatives were Chief Babatunde Yinusa, Baale of Idi Isin; Chief Ibrahim Ajisafe, Baale of Ojete; Chief Olalekan Ajibola, Baale of Gbogidi; Chief Rasak Oguntola, Baale of Igbonla; Chief Abidemi Akorede, Baale of Orile Igboro; and Chief bidemi Idowu, Baale of Isoku.

Other distinguished guests were Mr. Olaolu Olabimtan, Hon. Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Ogun State; Hon. Babatunde Odunayo Olaotan, Special Adviser to Ogun State Governor on Government House and General Matters; Dr. Adeoye Oyedeji Rector, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic; Chief Sunday Oladapo Oke, The Registrar, Tai Solarin University of Education; Dr. Mukail Aremu Akinde, Rector, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro ably represented by the Registrar, FPI; Dr. Abiodun Oluseye, Rector, Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa; Chief (Mrs) Yemisi Oloyo, Iya Ewe of Ilaro Yewa; Mr Akeem Tijani, Director of Novacare (virtually); Dr. Hakeem Taiwo, Chairman ASUP, FPI; Barrister Hakeem Dawodu, Dean School of Part-time Studies, FPI; and Bldr. Dauda Adebayo, Chairman Nigeria Institute of Building, Ogun State, and a host of many others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button